The San Antonio Writers’ Guild 26th Annual Contest features categories in fiction, non-fiction, and poetry. The contest is open to all writers, SAWG members and non-members. The deadline for entry is December 31, 2017. The rules for 2017/2018 are posted below.


Cash prizes are given in each category. Authors retain all rights to their works.

Please read the rules carefully. Entries that do not meet the submission guidelines or do not fit the contest categories will be disqualified, and the entry fee(s) will be forfeited.

All entries, characters, and worlds must be the original work of the contestant unless the characters are real people (memoir or non-fiction). Fan fiction is not permitted. Winning entries (1st, 2nd, and 3rd place) from previous SAWG contests may not be submitted. Entries must not be previously published in any medium prior to submission to the contest. An entry may be submitted for publication at the time it is entered in the contest, but if the entry is published prior to December 31, 2017, the individual must notify SAWG to withdraw the entry from the contest. Entry fees are non-refundable.

The Junette Kirkham Woller Award for Effort ("The Judy Award")

This award, with a prize of twenty dollars, is awarded each year at the December Holiday Potluck to the member of the San Antonio Writers' Guild who has received the most rejection notices that year. There is no submission fee.

Participating members must keep a record of rejection notices received in whatever form (note, letter, telephone conversation, returned manuscript, or email). Participants may also include those submissions for which they have not received a reply after six months. The record for submission should include the following:

  1. Type of work or idea submitted
  2. To whom submitted
  3. Date of submission
  4. Date of receipt of rejection (including no answer after six months)

Entries should be brought to the December social and handed to an officer.

Everyone who has received this award in the past has eventually become a published author.

National Novel Writing Month and the Jan Jennings Award

November is National Novel Writing Month (affectionately NaNoWriMo), and participants pledge to write an entire 50,000-word novel in a month. Join NaNoWriMo, and the SAWG member who wrote the most words in November will win the Jan Jennings Award.